Texas Department of Agriculture

1700 N. Congress, 11th Floor • Austin, TX 78701
Texas Department of Agriculture's Image

The Texas Legislature established the Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA) in 1907. The agency's key objectives are to promote production agriculture, consumer protection, economic development and healthy living. The agriculture commissioner oversees the agency and is elected every four years.